Sugarfree sweetness

Mum recently had a diabetes scare,and even if it was just that-a scare, it has made her super conscious when it comes to anything and everything even remotely related to the word “sweet”.

Naturally,with Diwali upon us, and sweets galore everywhere, mum,who generally relishes laddoos and barfis with the enthusiasm of a five-year old, swore that she would stay away from all of those,this year,and for the “happy,healthy” years to come.

It was not easy to watch.Period.

Also,mum was out looking for alternatives to satisfy her sugar cravings,on day two of the said fitness regime!

That is when we discovered “Sugar free Natura”, a low calorie sugar substitute.Ofcourse, mum had her set of qualms about the whole “Diet sugar” thing,but we decided to try it out anyways.

Since,everything is done online nowadays, (the alternative being me having to run errands,going to the supermarket and ACTUALLY fetching the stuff myself,which, to yours truly, is NOT at all plausible), we looked up the sugar free website, http://sugarfree-india.com/ and, after mum had made sure that all the facts she had in her checklist, checked out, we went ahead to actually try it.(The reassuring image of sanjeev kapoor, mum’s culinary inspiration,on the bottle might have helped too.)

After shelling out a reasonable 125 rupees for a 200 spoons bottle (atleast that’s how much I think it was.Don’t quite remember the exact amount,mostly because it was quite reasonable.),we decided to give sugar free a try.

Mum’s favorite besan laddoo recipe seemed like a favorable candidate.Here is the recipe:

Besan laddoo

Ingredients:

3 cups of gram flour (besan)

5-7 spoons of sugar free natura

2 tbsp cow ghee

Cardamom,well grounded

Dry fruits for seasoning.

Directions:

1.Mix the gram flour, cardamom and sugar in a bowl,and add the ghee.

2.Heat the mixture on a mild flame.(Am I going all “chemistry nerd” here?Sorry!This is the first time I am penning down a recipe,and as an engineering graduate and pop culture nerd,the time spent in the kitchen,which isn’t utilized for eating, is quite low.I hope you folks understand.)

3.What did mum do next?

4.Oh yeah, allow the mixture to sit still for an hour or three, depending upon your previous plans and engagements for the afternoon.The besan doesn’t mind.

5.Ignore the writer’s attempts at silly humor, and begin rolling the laddoos,into tiny little balls of sweetness.

6.Garnish with dry fruits.

7.Voila.

8.Gobble ’em up!

CAM07419

Wow.As simple as that!This makes me wonder why mum chose such a simple recipe.Was it because I was working in the kitchen?Huh!Need to ask her that.And the whereabouts of the cute pair of socks I bought last month.And, well, I wouldn’t bore you with the details,silly me!

So,anyways, the laddoos turned out to be pretty delicious, if I say so myself!Mum has replaced the sugar cans in the kitchen with bottles of Natura,and as it’s as sweet as the earlier variants, none of the family minds.On the plus side-health benefits:triple yay!

I couldn’t click pictures while I had my hands in the flour,but here are a few pictures of the laddoos,taken from different angles, taken five minutes before they disappeared for good!

Thanks for reading.

P.s:This recipe,is an account of how we made the laddoos,as I remember it (“As I remember it” being the key-phrase here),so I wouldn’t be surprised if anyone finds a flaw or two.If you do,just let me know in the comments section below,and I’ll be very grateful to you!

2 thoughts on “Sugarfree sweetness

Leave a Reply

